Srinivasa Ramanujan Centre (SRC), Kumbakonam, was inaugurated, in November 2000, by Prof. .S. Ramamurthy, Secretary,

Department of Science and Technology, Government of India with the following objectives:

The activities of the Srinivasa Ramanujan Centre have been expanded with SASTRA acquiring 10 acres of land in Lakshmivilas Agraharam and constructing a massive six storied structure encompassing an area of 1,52,523 sq.ft. Situated in the heart of the town, this building houses modern class rooms, state-of-the-art Computer laboratory, Electrical Machines laboratory, Electronics and Communications laboratory, Physics laboratory, Chemistry and Biochemistry laboratory, Mechanical Workshops and a 300 - seater airconditioned auditorium. A library with over 21,000 books and more than 145 print journals in addition to a free 2Mbps Internet access caters to the requirements of students and staff members. House of Ramanujan Mathematics, a museum on life and works of the Mathematical prodigy, Srinivasa Ramanujan, also exists on this campus. SRC has been dedicated to the Nation by His Excellency Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, President of India.

Based on the recommendations of a high level committee appointed by the University Grants Commission (UGC), Government of India, Srinivasa Ramanujan Centre, established by SASTRA has been declared as an OFF-CAMPUS CENTRE under the ambit of SASTRA Deemed University.

Honouring The Mathematics Legend, Srinivasa Ramanujan

Commemorative Lecture

SRC, SASTRA organizes Srinivasa Ramanujan Birth Anniversary Commemorative lecture. The first in this series was delivered by Dr. Geroge E. Andrews, Evan Pugh Professor of Mathematics, Pennsylvania State University, the second by Dr. Krishnaswamy Alladi, Professor and Chair, Department of Mathematics, University of Florida, the third by Dr. Manjul Bhargava, University of Princeton, the fourth by Dr. Terence Tao, Professor of Mathematics, University of California, Los Angeles, the Fifth by Dr. Ben Green, Hershell Smith Professor of Mathematics, Cambridge

University, England, the sixth by Dr. Akshay Venkatesh, Professor of Mathematics, Stanford University, USA, The seventh was by Prof. Kathrin Bringmann, University of Cologne, Germany and the Eighth was by Prof. Wei Zhang, Harvard University, USA

CHAIRS for Research in Mathematics

SASTRA Ramanujan Award

SASTRA has instituted an annual award of US$ 10,000/- and a citation to be presented for outstanding research in the areas influenced by Srinivasa Ramanujan. The award is open to researchers all over the world under the age of 32. This award has been instituted with a view to encourage young minds to pursue cutting edge research in mathematical applications influenced by Ramanujan and increase the visibility of mathematics both at the national and global level. The award for 2005 was given to two young Indians Dr.Manjul Bhargava, University of Princeton and Dr. Kannan Soundararajan, University of Michigan. SASTRA gave away two individual awards of $10,000/- each. Dr. Terence Tao, Professor of Mathematics, University of California, Los Angeles was the winner of the award for the year 2006. The award for 2007 was awarded to Dr. Ben Green, Hershell Smith Professor of Mathematics, Cambridge University, England. The award for 2008 was awarded to Dr. Akshay Venkatesh, Professor of Mathematics, Stanford University, USA. The award for 2009 was awarded to Prof. Katherin Bringman of Cologne University, Germany. The award for 2010 was awarded to Prof. Wei Zhang, Harvard University, USA. The award for 2011 was given to Dr. Roman Holowinsky, Ohio State University, USA. The award for 2012 was given by Prof. Zhiwei Yun, MIT, USA on 22nd December 2012 at Delhi in the presence of Shri Jitin Prasada, State Minister HRD. The award for 2013 was given to Prof. Peter Scholze, University of Bonn, Germany. The award for 2014 was given to Prof. James Maynard, Oxford University, England & University of Montreal, Canada.  


Honouring the Mathematics Legend, Srinivasa Ramanujan